Unuudur names the ‘Best of 2012


On February 18 the Unuudur ‘Best of 2012’ Award Ceremony took place, awarding titles and certificates to the people who have delighted the Mongolian public and promoted Mongolia on the world stage through their excellence, achievements, creations, activities, and honours.

The Unuudur (Mongolian newspaper) has been awarding the ‘Best of the Year’ awards since 2002. This year’s event took place at the Ulaanbaatar Hotel.

To select the winners, the Unuudur conducts a poll each year, nominating 100 persons from every sector of society.

Two time Olympic medalist judoka N.Tuvshinbayar ranked first in the polls this year and was granted the title of ‘The Best of 2012’. The following top nine places were awarded to: the President of Mongolia, Ts.Elbegdorj; State Honoured Artist, E.Amartuvshin; the Mayor of Ulaanbaatar, E.Bat-Uul; the Prime Minister of Mongolia, N.Altankhuyag; State Honoured Athlete, S.Battsetseg; Sumo’s 70th Yokozuna, D.Byambadorj; London Olympics Silver Medalist, N.Tugstsogt; Chief of the Agency for Fair Competition and Consumer Rights, O.Magnai; and Member of Parliament, S.Ganbaatar.

The Editor-in-Chief of Unuudur, State Honoured Worker, writer and journalist, J.Myagmarsuren; and State Prized Writer, Baabar, were also ranked in the top 20.

Other citizens who raised Mongolia’s name high also received votes from the public. These included D.Battuvshin, who rescued a person from a burning car; M.Bolortsetseg, a young scientist who reported the case of the Tarbosaurus Bataar, a fossil of great significance in Mongolia’s natural heritage; D.Ankhlan, a scientist who invented an influenza vaccine; B.Baasansuren, a scientist who treats women for infertility; L.Dugerjav, a South Pole researcher; Ch.Ganjavkhlan, an activist against human trafficking; Kh.Khatanbaatar, the Director of the Mongolian Intellectual Academy; and T.Myagmarsuren, the winner of the ‘Calendar Calculation’ category of the Mental Calculation World Cup 2012.

The 21 people who topped the polls, and the number of points for each, are listed below.

  1. N.Tuvshinbayar-152 points
  2. Ts.Elbegdorj- 92 points
  3. E.Amartuvshin-60 points
  4. E.Bat-uul-30 points
  5. N.Altankhuyag-24 points
  6. S.Battetseg-17 points
  7. D.Byambadorj- 17 points
  8. N.Tugstsogt-15 points
  9. O.Magnai-15 points
  10. S.Ganbaatar-14 points
  11. N.Enkhbayar-12 points
  12. U.Enkhtuvshin-9 points
  13. Z.Enkhbold-8 points
  14. Kh.Namsrai-7 points
  15. S.Bayartsogt-5 points
  16. L.Dugerjav-5 points
  17. Kh.Khatanbaatar-5 points
  18. G.Ariunbaatar-5 points
  19. J.Myagmarsuren-5 points
  20. Baabar-4 points
  21. B.Bat-Erdene- 4 points

Short URL: http://ubpost.mongolnews.mn/?p=2923

Posted by on Feb 21 2013. Filed under Domestic. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

8 + 3 =

Recently Commented

  • Oyun: www.theblueeconomy.org
  • Honheree: It is a sad and awful sight to see so many animals dead from dzuds. These have happened in the past and since 2004 there have...
  • Harvey Dent: Mongolia does not get 476,000 tourists a year. Its gets 476,000 arrivals, most of these are Chinese construction workers....
  • Honheree: It is good but unusual that a Mongolian is so forthright. I am D. Ganbold will be criticised by Mongolians for telling the...
  • Honheree: Be thankful Mongolia is so cheap. In USA lamb in stores costs 69,281 MNT /kg and sirloin which is cheaper cut of beef is...